An Open Letter to my Daughter’s Second Grade Teacher

So I went to my six year old daughter’s parent teachers’ meeting yesterday, and I have to say that I was not at all impressed. With you. The teacher. In fact, I’m a little upset.

Because after the headmistress gave her remarks and dealt with her issues and invited you to sit at the front of the class in order to address the parents, you preferred to remain at the side of the room to answer any questions.  Well, I have to tell you that I feel  disrespected – just a tad.

Since the times set for these meetings actually coincide with the time I get off from work, I hope that I can be forgiven for being a little tardy. Happily, I didn’t miss any information, since you were twenty minutes late.

But I sat through the entire meeting and still didn’t receive any information. Like what are your expectations from both students and parents alike. What areas need strengthening in general, and what we as parents can do to help you. You seemed awfully eager to get to the part of the meeting where parents could speak to you one-on-one.

You also seemed a little defensive when a parent did ask a question in the open forum, but since I couldn’t actually see you from where I was sitting, I could be mistaken. I can say that when I saw you a few weeks ago, I found it strange that you didn’t immediately acknowledge the note I sent for you, and you left it to me to initiate the discussion about the issues raised in it.

I won’t mention that you told my daughter that she should probably have her eyes checked if she wasn’t seeing the blackboard properly. Wouldn’t that have been better addressed to me? My husband said that he wasn’t aware that you moonlighted as an optometrist. Or was that just you being funny?

Yesterday’s meeting inevitably led me to make comparisons with the one that was held last year with my daughter’s previous teacher. What strikes me now is that I left last year’s meeting knowing that the teacher was genuinely interested in her students, challenging though they may have been.

I always take my hat off to teachers, especially those who deal with young children because I know that it’s not easy. But it’s obvious that while some people are called to teach, not everyone should answer.

Am I talking to myself here?

