Daily Archives: October 18, 2013

My Top Six – Pet Peeves

What are some of the things that annoy you? I’m so annoyed that unlike most people who have a top five, I could only narrow mine down to six.

Email forward requests: I generally like to receive emails, but I really dislike having to forward them at the peril of my soul.  I’m particularly annoyed by the ones that try to guilt me into responding by throwing religion into the mix, or assuming that if I don’t forward it, I don’t sufficiently care about the issue at hand. Since I did not receive that windfall of money after I once forwarded an item to ten people (not including the sender), and then five more people within five minutes of receiving said email, I have begun to delete without reading.

People who jump the queue without joining the line: So you’re standing in line to pay a bill or cash a cheque – in other words, waiting your turn, and you see someone sidle up to the person at the head of the line and give that person his bills and cash. So now there are six people in front of you instead of five. If I had known that I could just go to the head of the line, would I be standing here with this (dunce) cap on my head?

Cell phone users who don’t keep their conversations private: The convenience of a cell phone is well known, so much so that a lot of people don’t even have land lines anymore. But there’s no need for me to feel as if I’m part of your conversation too. I’d also appreciate if you didn’t cut me off mid-sentence to answer your phone, and please do what the nice people ask you to do – and turn off your phone when you come to the movies.

Bloggers who only see you as a business opportunity: We all know that most people that blog get a kick out of having somebody read what they write, but I so dislike the trawlers who see new bloggers as fresh meat for a sales pitch. So what if you’re living the life we all want? So what if you’re only working a few hours a day? I don’t want to have to sell anybody on my lifestyle in order to keep living it. I’ll just blog for the fun of it – thank you very much.

Selfies: I understand that we’re a worldwide community of ‘sharers’, but there’s something a little show off-ish about tweeting a picture of yourself, or sending by Instagram or Facebook, a picture that you took of yourself showing your latest outfit, your post baby body or your rock hard abs to people you don’t really know. When did we become so self-obsessed?

People who see your failures but never your triumphs: I’m always amazed at how some acquaintances feel comfortable making negative comments about your weight, which is never even followed by a thoughtful tip. When I was a few pounds heavier, someone was quick to point out that I was “getting fat”. However, as I’ve been successful so far at keeping a few extra pounds off, it doesn’t seem to merit a comment – but thanks for the encouragement.

5 Things My Mother Told Me

Image credit: clickamericana.com

Image credit: clickamericana.com

My mother is a person who doesn’t say much. In fact, she’s quite introverted – like me. She’s also not very expressive. At least she never used to be, but that was before she had grandchildren. Now it’s hugs and kisses all around.

When I was younger, however, I would have to look at her face carefully to see if she was pleased about something, but if she wasn’t, it would be as clear as day.

People from my generation will be familiar with “the look” – the one from your mother that stopped you dead in your tracks when you were doing something wrong. Now, whether I narrow my eyes, or widen them, my kids don’t see danger – they just think something’s wrong with my contact lenses.

Anyway, there are a few things that my mother has said that have stuck with me after all these years. Some I have applied to my life and work, and some of them I can’t wait to use on my kids.

1. Don’t put all your cards on the table.

When I was younger, and even now, I suppose, most mothers are happiest when their daughters are married, or engaged to be married. In the interim, they saw it as their duty to keep their daughters as chaste as possible.

So, while most will be familiar with the cow and the free milk analogy, my mother, used one involving cards, although she never played bridge or solitaire in her life. But she was a businesswoman, so maybe she was concerned about the ‘art of the deal’.

2. Always pay a man (or woman) for the work done.

Years ago, in our small island community, where we all knew each other, people running businesses operated on the “don’t worry, I won’t charge you much” agreement.

It was because of this that she would tell me that it is important to a pay a person for the work done. Even if you think you were overcharged, don’t argue. Just know that it will be the last time that you will use those services. No hard feelings required. And no lawsuit either.

3. Avoid the police and the courts at all costs.

This is self explanatory, but the latter, particularly, she said wasted both time and money benefitting mostly the lawyers.

4. Don’t ask for favours.

Unless you’re sure the answer will be yes. Because nobody wants to be embarrassed – not the person asking or the one being asked.

5. You can give a child everything except a mind (of her own).

So no matter the gadgets and gizmos we give our children, and even the education that some are afforded; no matter how we try to influence them –  at the end of the day, they make up their own minds. We just have to hope that they take the best from all the information they receive.

Thanks Mom. Bet you didn’t think I was listening.