Art Has a Shelf Life

My daughter has been getting her writing on. And not just any writing – but writing in cursive (or as we say locally), “in join-up”. Being in grade two, she’s not being taught yet, but since her brother doesn’t write any other way now, she figured she’d follow suit. But I digress.

The point is that she has been busy writing these letters professing her love and appreciation for me. Which is really sweet. She also presented me with a picture of our house along with that of the neighbour’s, a family portrait (her version), a bee family and several cartoon characters. So I am faced with the dilemma of what to do with all these creations.

If you know me, you will know that I’m not a fan of clutter (anymore). Not since I moved a few years ago. I have provided the kids with a bulletin board which holds favourite pictures, school notices and favoured art pieces, but we long ago ran out of space. It’s not just drawers and cupboards that have to be cleared once in a while. In this house, art also has a shelf life.

I remember when my son was in kindergarten and he came home with his first colouring project – the letter A. He wasn’t anywhere inside the lines, but he wasn’t the only one who was pleased with his attempt. As a result, that letter A was stuck to the side of the refrigerator for about a year. My daughter’s first colouring project also had pride of place – in her bedroom. It wasn’t that I was any less proud, it was just that it was a new fridge.

Once, after having sifted through the craft and art projects and putting a few in the garbage bin in the bedroom, my daughter presented me with one of the items that she had salvaged from the bin. Needless to say, she was mortified that I would discard of it in such a manner. Needless to say, I feigned ignorance.

So while I’m happy to keep the appreciation letter, I’ll dispose of the other drawings deep in the garbage bin in the kitchen. And just for added insurance – I’ll do it tonight, after she’s fallen asleep.

Am I talking to myself here?

