“News You Can’t Possibly Use” – The things some people do for their art

Image credit: images.dexknows.com

Image credit: images.dexknows.com

I don’t know if I told any of you who don’t know me personally that I love to sing, and that when I leave the shower, I’ve been told that I don’t sound half bad.

 

Anyway, it’s something that I’d love to be able to do professionally, but only if it didn’t come with the knots in the stomach, the bundle of nerves and the numerous bathroom trips prior to a performance.

 

Not to mention the annoying paparazzi and hangers-on that I’m likely to attract after I got really famous.

 

But even being a singer comes with its risks, and I don’t mean the crazy fans, the stalkers, the ego strokers, the detractors or the endless comparisons to others.

 

Now and again we hear of singers having to cancel tour dates in order to rest their voices or recover from damage to their vocal cords, while some singers have had to have surgery to repair them.

 

As with most major surgeries, the patient is usually knocked out by general anesthesia and the doctor determines the degree of success achieved after the patient wakes up.

 

But I read of a professional singer who not only was awake for the entire operation to remove a tumor from her throat, but who sang her way through it. Because the pain would obviously be felt since she was awake for the procedure, a hypnotist was required to take her to a place far, far away – from the operating room.

 

By having the patient sing, the surgeon was able to determine while he was operating just how things were going. And since one slip of the scalpel could have destroyed her singing voice, I dare say she wasn’t afraid to take on board any and all suggestions.

 

I don’t know which is more amazing, though. The fact that the hypnotist was able to make her “travel” without leaving the building or that she didn’t mind singing for free.

 

But that’s what you do when you’re a singer. I should know.

 

Am I talking to myself here?

